RTI (Part 5): A Closer Look at Tier 3

Perspectives & Resources



By completing the entire Perspectives & Resources section and reviewing the accompanying activities, the learner will:

  • Recognize the elements of Tier 3 intervention
  • Understand how to identify students who need Tier 3 intervention
  • Know that Tier 3 intervention involves the frequent progress monitoring of student learning that, in turn, guides instruction
  • Realize the importance of maintaining good communication with parents throughout the RTI process
  • Comprehend the effects of culture on learning


This IRIS Module aligns with the following licensure and program standards and topic areas. Click the arrows below to learn more.

CAEP standards for the accreditation of educators are designed to improve the quality and effectiveness not only of new instructional practitioners but also the evidence-base used to assess those qualities in the classroom.

  • Standard 1: Content and Pedagogical Knowledge

CEC standards encompass a wide range of ethics, standards, and practices created to help guide those who have taken on the crucial role of educating students with disabilities.

  • Standard 4: Assessment
  • Standard 5: Instructional Planning and Strategies

InTASC Model Core Teaching Standards are designed to help teachers of all grade levels and content areas to prepare their students either for college or for employment following graduation.

  • Standard 2: Learning Differences
  • Standard 10: Leadership and Collaboration

NCATE standards are intended to serve as professional guidelines for educators. They also overview the “organizational structures, policies, and procedures” necessary to support them.

  • Standard 1: Candidate Knowledge, Skills, and Professional Dispositions

When you are ready, proceed to Page 1.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email