Classroom Assessment (Part 2): Evaluating Reading Progress

Perspectives & Resources

Ms. Begay and students


By completing the entire Perspectives & Resources section and reviewing the accompanying activities, the learner will:

  • Discover how to assess reading skills at each grade level, K–6
  • Identify how to set goals, monitor instruction, and adjust instruction based on students’ reading scores
  • Understand how to communicate students’ reading progress to other educational professionals and parents


This IRIS Module aligns with the following licensure and program standards and topic areas. Click the arrows below to learn more.

CAEP standards for the accreditation of educators are designed to improve the quality and effectiveness not only of new instructional practitioners but also the evidence-base used to assess those qualities in the classroom.

  • Standard 1: Content and Pedagogical Knowledge

CEC standards encompass a wide range of ethics, standards, and practices created to help guide those who have taken on the crucial role of educating students with disabilities.

  • Standard 4: Assessment

InTASC Model Core Teaching Standards are designed to help teachers of all grade levels and content areas to prepare their students either for college or for employment following graduation.

  • Standard 6: Assessment
  • Standard 7: Planning for Instruction
  • Standard 10: Leadership and Collaboration

NCATE standards are intended to serve as professional guidelines for educators. They also overview the “organizational structures, policies, and procedures” necessary to support them.

  • Standard 1: Candidate Knowledge, Skills, and Professional Dispositions

When you are ready, proceed to Page 1.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email